Women Motivation

From Voices Of The Dream-African-American Women Speak

Bessie Coleman, the first licensed black pilot...
Image via Wikipedia

Today marks the end of Black History Month. Although my history will always be carried in my heart, inside my head and upon the strengths of my back, because I pay homage to all of the freedom fighters, trailblazers, and folks who became a mini nation in a stance for justice and equality for  men ,women & children…I’m in awe & inspired by some of these great folks. So, I want to share with you all, some of these inspiring messages from great African-American women found in the inspiring & powerful book: VOICES OF THE DREAM!

I am not going to die, I’m going home like a shooting star-Sojourner Truth

Our skins may differ, but from thee we claim A sister’s privilege and a sister’s name-Sarah Forten

I knew we had no aviators, neither men nor women, and I knew the race needed to be represented…so I thought it my duty to risk my life to learn aviation and encourage flying among men and women of our race- Bessie Coleman

One isn’t necessarily born with courage, but one is born with potential. Without courage, we cannot practice any other virtue with consistency. We can’t be kind, true, merciful, generous, or honest- Maya Angelou

Love stretches your heart and makes you big inside-Margaret Walker

For I am my mother’s daughter, and the drums of Africa still beat in my heart. They will not let me rest while there is a single negro boy or girl without a chance to prove his worth-Mary McLeod Bethune

When I found I had crossed that line, I looked at my hands to see if I was the same person. There was such a glory over everything; The sun came like gold through the trees, and over the fields, and I felt like I was in Heaven- Harriet Tubman

For we are strong now! Able-bodied seeds strewn from the strongest of Oak and we thank you Southern Woman of Color- Clara Freeman, in Memory of Alberta Brown, born March 1st…

Happy Birthday, Mama!

4 thoughts on “From Voices Of The Dream-African-American Women Speak”

  1. Clara, I’m so glad you are such a strong voice for women, and especially those from the African American community. We all deserve to have our voices heard. We are all equal in dignity and, as such, deserve this much. You are an awesome representative of those who still don’t feel duly empowered.

    Like

  2. Thanks Roxane-

    I’ve always advocated for those I consider to be “underdogs” & for me, these are the women, children and the elderly who might not have a ‘voice’ to speak on their behalf. Perhaps this need to advocate for others, stems from my own upbringing…

    Peace & blessigs,
    Clara.

    Like

  3. I’m proud to be a descendant of these great women. And I’m hoping my name could someday be written in the pages of history as one who made a difference.

    Like

Leave a Reply

