Guest Post By Mary Aalgaard

Living into your Authentic Self
 
I am drawn to Clara’s blog because it is about being an authentic woman, learning how to live into your authentic self.  I lost myself in a bad relationship and in giving away all of myself to others, so that when I got divorced, I had to meet myself all over again and say,  “Who is Mary and what does she like to do?  What are her gifts and talents, and where can she use them?” 
 
I knew what they were.  I knew what made me come alive, but I didn’t know how to make them grow, or if I’d have the courage to share them.  I found myself in many coffee consultations, leaning over the steam of the mug, having real and meaingful conversations with friends.  Then, I signed up for Scriptfrenzy last April.  It’s an online support for people to write a script in a month, like the novel in a month that many people do in November.  Characters had already been forming in my brain.  I’d taken notes on dialogue, and the setting was clear.  I’d have five women meeting regularly in a coffee shop.  They’re a singing group, so they meet in the coffee shop to plan their music.  Their next gig is the Race for the Cure luncheon in their town.  Of course, real life drama happens as they discuss their music.  Themes like breast cancer, losing a mom to the disease, relationships, and friendship. 
 
When I first embraced my gift as a writer, I thought I’d write a novel, have a debut party, and that would be my first celebration and big publication.  I’ve written two YA novels that won’t be published as is.  They’re good novels, but they’re not great.  When I’d get critiques, my exposition was too much telling, not enough showing, but my dialogue always got praise.  I have an ear for dialogue.  I can remember word for word what is said in conversations, how people talk, their word choices.  It feels very natural to write it.  All I’m doing is writing down what I hear.  I’ve always been drawn to the theatre.  Did a bit of acting in community plays, and I work with kids and drama where I help them develop their own characters and write their own script.  I decided it was time to embrace the playwright in me, and write my first full-length play.  The title is Coffee Shop Confessions.  I’ve had a table reading where I invited a few talented friends to read it out loud.  I served them breakfast and coffee, of course, and had one of the best mornings of my life.  I was amazed at how beautifully they brought my characters to life.  They added personality and spirit, and I knew this is what it meant to live into my authentic self.
 
So, as you’re going about your day, ask yourself:  What makes me come alive?  Then, do it, and marvel at the results.  Don’t be afraid to live into your authentic self.  When you do, you will come alive, and you will find yourself inspiring others.
 
Thank you, Clara, for inviting me to be a guest on your wonderful blog.  I am blessed by our connection.
 
Peace,
Mary,
 
My thanks to Mary, an accomplished Pianist & Playwright for so kindly consenting to share her journey to authenticity!  To read more of Mary’s work, go to www.maryaalgaard.blogspot.com. The doors are now open. If any woman wants to share with us their “aha” moments to living and learning from life experiences, send me an email. 
17 thoughts on “Guest Post By Mary Aalgaard

  1. Mary,
    Was just about to inform you of your post:) I appreciate you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule for doing it! I know women on a grand scale will appreciate it as well.

    Peace & blessing,
    Clara.
    P.S. Thanks for informing your readers!

    Like

  2. What a surprise to find you here, Mary! I have to take a little credit, since, I believe, I first introduced you to Clara’s blog. Wasn’t she a great find. : )

    I, too, find your authentic and honest blog so refreshing and insightful, Clara. I would love to be a guest sometime down the line. I’m so happy you’ve featured Mary, though, first. I’ve traveled a lot of this journey with her and am smiling as she’s shining. Thanks for recognizing her light and giving her the spotlight today!

    Peace to you both, and gratitude for starting off my week on a high note!

    Like

  3. Roxane, thanks for the compliment. A double thanks for introducing Mary to my blog! I was happy when she agreed to a guest post for my readers @ such an awesome time for her:) She didn’t disappoint!

    I would love a contribution from you when time permits, ok?:)
    Best,
    Clara.

    Like

  4. I can connect as I too went through a divorce and it was really tough until I realized my ex and I made better friends. We have a son together and I knew at first he was worried because he would ask my father “why is mommy so sad”. I had to get back on my feet. For a while after my divorce, I had nothing but my clothes, some knick knacks, my notebooks of writing and poetry, and my car…and living in a small room at my parents’ home. I was pathetic and I let it get me at first.

    But it was my son I had to think about. If I stayed where I was, then what would that teach him? Anyhow, I am not there, the person I was about 4 years ago… and loads better today.

    Thank you for sharing your story and I am glad you are living fully and for yourself.

    Like

    1. Nile, appreciate your adding to the conversation . Living and learning from life experiences becomes a guide for how we decide our lives to be and that life decision can lead to our living the best life ever!
      Clara.

      Like

  5. Roxane, Thanks for introducing me to Clara.

    Nile, I’m so glad that you’re doing better now. Having kids and living into our Authentic selves is the best way to nurture and inspire them.

    Like

  6. Hi Mary and Clara … What a beautiful story. Mary, you know that I’m all about living our passions, and your story takes us right there perfectly. You definitely make it seem all worth the effort, and the creativity, to try to live what we love. Kudos to you 🙂

    Like

  7. Mary,
    What a beautiful post. You have focused on your talents and creativity to find fulfillment. You find strength in your skills, and in sharing with others, such as playing the piano for elderly residents of a assisted living center, or teaching music to youngsters, etc.

    Your words always transpire kindness and loving. You are a gem!

    Doris

    Like

  8. Beautiful article, Mary. The idea of asking, everyday, ‘what makes me come alive’ and then doing it sounds like a sure-fire recipe for living an authentic live. Thanks for the encouragement (as always)!

    Write on!
    Jen

    Like

  9. Clara…as soon as I am done with this comment, I am going to check out your site…from reading the comments, I am in for a treat! I love authentic living, especially since it took breast cancer and the challenging treatment of surgery, chemo, and radiation before I finally gave myself permission to live more authentically.
    Mary…I loved reading more of your history and am so proud of you, along with being so appreciative of the inspiration you give us all!

    Like

  10. Hi Kim, welcome!

    Your story will serve to inspire other women on a simular path. The goal at authentic woman is to motivate & encourage others to rediscover their authenticity and lend support in times of uncertainty – I’d encourage your contribution!

    Best,
    Clara.

    Like

Leave a Reply

