On Being Different…

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference. Robert Frost poem The Road Not Taken

Happy Monday, women of truth! I hope everyone had a special Easter Sunday of worship, praise and good times. I spend my days in constant awe and humility for what the good lord has done for me and I’m so happy to know and appreciate the woman I’ve become.

I want to have a conversation about differences and coming to that beautiful place of knowing where you experience the joy of loving your ‘self’-24/7.

thpeg

Are you a leader or a follower? Are you imagining yourself as being the square peg who doesn’t fit into anybody’s round hole? If you are feeling the pangs of being ‘different’ than the rest, I salute you! Why? Because you’re on the right path that is yours and yours alone. You see the truth is that it’s really okay to be “You.”

I remember reading Bishop T.D. Jake’s “Woman Thou Art Loose!” for the first time and how his words resonated with me. He talked about God putting something special in  a woman who is uniquely you (and me) and I had one of those ‘a-ha’ Oprah moments. Finally, I began to realize why I felt apart from the clique in nursing school or why I couldn’t in good faith play follow the leader with my entrepreneur career choices.

By opting to do my own thing, I caught much flak and lost a few friendships along the way, but I’ve never been happier with choices I made that were for me by me. Have I made mistakes? Of course, but mistakes are only stepping stones to getting it right, the second or third time around:)

Don’t be intimidated by your differences. Embrace your unique self and sail on. Do you and don’t give it a second thought when you upset other people idea of who you should be. My Monday message to women who might feel like an outcast or outsider is this: You weren’t created to run with the pack. God created you to stand out from all the rest.

th peg peepStep away from the shadows that hold you hostage and embrace your unique ‘Self.” Stop trying to fit your greatness into another person’s limiting perception of who you should be.

The great fighter and former heavyweight champion of the world, Muhammad Ali would enter the ring and give interviews touting his battle cry “I am the greatest!.”

Visionary women, you are brave, beautiful, different and you are the greatest. Rock on!

Always remember to treat yourself special because you are…

Leave a Reply

