Why You Need To Check Your Tendency For Complacency

thcat cHappy Monday, warrior women! Are you ever reluctant to do something for yourself that you know you need to do? Do you rely heavily on friends, family , spouses and even your co-workers or colleagues to perform a task for you, that you’re capable of doing yourself? Are you stuck in your complacency mode?

Everyone who stops by to read my blogs (3 blogs) know how much I don’t like shopping for groceries or hitting the malls to purchase myself a new pair of something or another:) The point being, I’d much rather stay where I am, in the comfort of my own home and use the technology of the computer to get me what I need.

Well, that’s complacency folks! I just got around to making a much-needed dental and doctors appointment, actually knowing it’s been a necessity for a while. But, the idea of waiting, seemingly forever, until my name is called and I can see the doctor/dentist or going up and down aisles in the produce department in search of that vibrant head of lettuce in the grocery store, just never appealed to me. I suppose if I could have, I’d ask somebody to take those doctors/dentist visits for me:)

But, in order to get what we need, we know we have to do what we need to do. Same with people in business for themselves. You can’t keep asking other folks to do what you should be doing to promote your business brand. At some point, when you’ve infringed upon the kindness of another person one too many times, that person might began to feel overwhelmed by your neediness and might even start to harbor feelings of resentment toward you. Sometimes being complacent can cause you more trouble than you bargained for.

seize dayI recognize when I’m in avoidance mode.  And when I’m fed up with my own issues of complacency, I do what I need to do. In order for me to do me,  action is required. I don’t expect other people to do for me what I can do for myself. If you’re one of those folks who knowingly take advantage of the kindness of others, just because you’re in your complacency mode- happily accomplishing next to nothing, it’s time you recognize your dependency issues and correct them before you lose a valuable colleague, friend or family member.

Why ask other people to do for you what you know you can do for yourself?  Do not take for granted the kindness of others too many times.  Otherwise, you will become like the boy who cried “wolf.”

thcomplacency“Take Action!”

Leave a Reply

