th listen

Happy New Year courageous women! I hope everyone had a joyous and blessed holiday. I got a feeling that 2016 is going to be your time to shine in your passions and reap the rewards of believing in the possibility of a sustainable and authentic lifestyle. I awoke this morning listening to the Universe call your name!

So, over the holidays I got a little R&R during the downtime, along with celebrating holiday festivities. I slept peacefully, connected to loved ones and friends and also took time to unsubscribe from some of those pesky emails that were taking up space in my inbox. Unwarranted emails will become my new pet peeve for 2016.

I’m a lifelong learner and initially these newsletters offered tidbits of information to inspire and motivate. Some of them also gave mini tutorials to further one’s knowledge from a technical and purpose standpoint. However, I wanted to start with a clean slate in this new beginnings, which led me to the delete button. It’s a new year, people! Time to walk in Faith, unleash your pearls and just do the darn thing!

I’m not going to talk about redundant resolutions or goals you’ve set for yourself on the cusp of this new year. I don’t usually make New Year resolutions, but I do aspire from time to time throughout the new year, to make myself better in some capacity. These intentional aspirations are essentially ones that helps me grow in areas of personal development, writing and mastering a technique or a new technology. Learning new things keep me informed, relevant and makes me a better me. At the same time, what I learn allows me to inspire, motivate and empower all of you. My message today comes from that old saying that if you do something long enough, it becomes a habit.

In this new year of new beginnings, I resolve to make listening my habit, whether that’s in my personal life with friends, family, relationships or in my professional life. When I talk, confer with and speak with women who seek advice and a listening ear, my habitual lightening ear needs to be on fleek:)

I think a lot of you can relate to the listening thing, where, oftentimes, we’re so busy formulating answers to offer an intelligent response, that we indirectly miss out on hearing the question!

Have you ever been in conversation with someone and they take you to task for not listening to them? Okay y’all can put your hand down now:) Practicing the simple art of listening with intent will keep you on point and prevent you from being bombarded with mindless distractions wrecking havoc on your brain.

Whole Body Listener

My desire to practice intentional listening with compassion and empathy, is my New Years “resolve to be.” Listening with my whole self-will be the habit I don’t want to break. This year, 2016, strive to become a better listener, for the betterment of all involved.

 

Listening is such a simple act. It requires us to be present, and that takes practice, but we don’t have to do anything else. We don’t have to advise, or coach, or sound wise. We just have to be willing to sit there and listen.

Are you a good listener? Do you strive to work on your listening skills?
We are open for comment.
Happy New Year 2016!

 

 

